It hurts so good…

“Black, black, black and blue, beat me ’til I’m numb,
Tell the devil I said “hey” when you get back to where you’re from.
Mad woman, bad woman, that’s just what you are,
Yeah, you’ll smile in my face then rip the brakes out my car…”

I ask myself, why would a perfectly wonderful, awesome, talented man even entertain a woman like this?? I guess for the same reasons a perfectly wonderful, awesome, talented woman would entertain a man like this… Love?

It begs the question, are we inherently masochistic (or in Bruno’s case, suicidal) when it comes to love?

I’d love to hear your thoughts on this…

3 thoughts on “It hurts so good…

  1. I see this song as being so indicative of our culture. We crave love. I think we crave it because it’s Who we are. Sometimes it is such an obsession that common sense is shoved aside and we think we must sacrifice to experience that love we crave. We’ve been taught that love “suffers long” (Corinthians 13) but that phrase meant something entirely different back in the King James days. I think there’s a difference between taking abuse and being loved. 🙂

    As I thought about this another song crossed my mind that I think may be a healthier, old school perspective on this theme: “What You Won’t Do for Love”

    “I guess you wonder where I’ve been
    I searched to find a love within
    I came back to let you know
    Got a thing for you and I can’t let go

    My friends wonder what is wrong with me
    Well I’m in a daze from your love, you see
    I came back to let you know
    Got a thing for you and I can’t let go

    Some people go around the world for love
    But they may never find what they dream of
    What you won’t do, do for love
    You’ve tried everything but you don’t give up
    In my world only you makes me do
    For love what I would not do

    But then I only want the best it’s true
    They can’t believe the things I do for you
    What you won’t do, do for love
    You’ve tried everything but you don’t give up
    In my world, only you makes me do
    For love what I would not do
    Makes me do for love what I would not do.”

    ~KJ

    • I can totally understand and appreciate going out of your way for love. I totally get that. My issue is with songs like Eminem’s “Love the Way You Lie”

      “Just gonna stand there and watch me burn?
      That’s alright, because I like the way it hurts…”

      I sincerely hope people are not taking relationship advice from Eminem. Jussayin…

  2. Pingback: The search is OVER! You ARE Mr./Ms. Right… « Deelicieux

Leave some LOVE!

