From the Time Capsule: Everything is a choice… even Love.

Leo Buscaglia, Miami Book Fair International, 1987

Image via Wikipedia

I’m not proud, but I have to confess… I’m still an active member of MySpace. **cringe** I rarely go on there, but I used to blog quite a bit back in the olden days of MySpace. I have hesitated to delete my account mostly because of these blogs. I don’t believe there is a way to export them. In the meantime, I had a brilliant idea. ūüėÄ ¬†REPOST!!! Some are actually quite entertaining. Reading them again, years later…. well, makes for ¬†interesting ¬†self-reflection.

This was my very first post. Even then, I was a hopeless romantic and completely obsessed with love and being in love. (Insert: Gag/Vomit/Awwwww here…) I remember stumbling upon a book ¬†at a garage sale which, due to my very apparent proclivities, drew my attention. Little did I know that this book, that only cost me $0.10, would later form much of the foundation for my beliefs about love and relationships.¬† This book is¬†Love by Leo Buscaglia. ¬†This blog post is an excerpt from this book, which I still had at the time. Sadly, I don’t anymore. I’m pretty sure I passed the book on to someone I thought would benefit from it. It’s the only way I would part with it (or anything dear to me.)

I still believe everything is a choice, wholeheartedly. Everything begins and ends with a choice; a decision. I leave you with this, another of my favorite Leo Buscaglia quotes:

“Love is open arms. If you close your arms about love you will find that you are left holding only yourself.”

With Arms Wide Open,

D~*

August 27, 2004

It is difficult for some people to accept that love is a Choice. This seems to run counter to the generally accepted theory of Romantic Love which expounds that love is inborn and requires no more than to accept it. This theory believes that love is a magical force which frees us from all suffering and solves every problem, that it is an end unto itself. To a limited extent, there may be some truths to each of these beliefs, but having the CAPACITY to love is not the same as having the Ability to love.

Leave some LOVE!

